Skip to main content
WHY PAYUP

Invoices and payment links with a lower card fee.

Payup sends invoices, quotes and payment pages, and gets you paid by card or bank transfer. Connect your own Stripe and Payup adds nothing to the card fee.

Start free with 25 invoices or quotes a year. Basic is £20 a year for 1,000.

WHY PEOPLE SWITCH

Get paid without giving away 2.5%.

  1. A lower card fee

    Connect your own Stripe and Payup adds nothing. A £500 card payment costs £7.70 in Stripe's fee, against £12.50 at the 2.5% many invoice apps charge.

  2. Bank transfers cost nothing

    Every invoice can be paid by bank transfer, with a reference for each customer, and it costs nothing.

  3. Invoices, quotes and payment pages

    Send an invoice or a quote, share a payment page or QR code, or take a payment in person on the till.

  4. £20 a year

    Basic has 1,000 invoices or quotes a year, card payments on invoices, quotes clients accept online, and your own colour and logo.

  5. Your money goes straight to you

    Card payments are paid into your bank by Stripe, and bank transfers go straight to your account. Payup only keeps the record.

SIDE BY SIDE

Payup and the popular invoice apps, side by side.

PayupSquare InvoicesSumUp InvoicesFreshBooksXero
Free planYes, 25 invoices or quotes a yearYes, no cap on invoicesYes, no cap on invoicesNoNo
Cheapest paid plan£20 a year£20 a month (Plus)£7 a month + VAT, billed yearly (Plus)£16 a month (Lite, 5 clients)£18 a month + VAT (Ignite)
Card fee on a £500 invoice£7.70 on your own Stripe or on Super£12.50£12.50Not shown on its pricing pageNot shown on its pricing page
Bank transfer feeNoneNone listedNoneNot statedNot stated
Accounting and VAT returnsNo, downloads for your accounting softwareNot listedNot listedYesYes

Payup's own Stripe fee is Stripe's standard UK card rate. Through Super Basic payments instead, a £500 card payment costs £15.20 on Basic and £7.70 on Super. Xero's and SumUp's prices are before VAT. Super Basic isn't VAT registered, so our prices are the full price. Rival details checked on 8 November 2026 from each provider's own UK pages, listed at the bottom of this page. Prices change, so check before you choose.

ALTERNATIVES

Looking for an alternative to Square, SumUp, FreshBooks, Xero or Zervant?

Each one has a page of its own with the full side-by-side. Comparing the whole suite? See how every Super Basic app compares.

A Square Invoices alternative with a lower card fee

Square Invoices is free with no cap on invoices, and includes recurring invoices and automatic reminders. Invoices paid online cost 2.5%, so a £500 invoice costs you £12.50. Plus is £20 a month.

Payup Free has fewer invoices, 25 a year. But on Basic with your own Stripe, or on Super, a £500 card payment costs £7.70.

  • £7.70 card fee on £500 with your own Stripe, against £12.50
  • Bank transfers cost nothing
  • Basic is £20 a year; Square Invoices Plus is £20 a month

WHEN SQUARE INVOICES SUITS BETTERYou send lots of invoices and want to pay nothing a month, or you already use Square in your shop.

Payup and Square Invoices in full

A SumUp Invoices alternative

SumUp Invoices is free with no cap on invoices and quotes. Online invoice payments cost 2.5%, and bank transfers are free. Plus is £7 a month plus VAT, billed yearly.

Payup's card fee is lower on your own Stripe or on Super: £7.70 on a £500 invoice, against £12.50. It also does payment pages, a till and quotes clients accept online.

  • A lower card fee on your own Stripe
  • See when a client opens an invoice, on Basic
  • Payment pages, a till and Gift Aid for donations

WHEN SUMUP INVOICES SUITS BETTERYou send more than 25 invoices a year and want to pay nothing at all.

Payup and SumUp Invoices in full

A FreshBooks alternative for simple invoicing

FreshBooks Lite is £16 a month for up to 5 clients, and Plus is £30 a month for 50, with 50% off the first 3 months. Both include VAT returns to HMRC.

If you only need to invoice and get paid, Payup Basic is £20 a year for 1,000 invoices and quotes.

  • £20 a year, against £192 a year for FreshBooks Lite
  • Quotes your clients accept online
  • Card and bank payments on every invoice

WHEN FRESHBOOKS SUITS BETTERYou want accounting, expenses and VAT returns in the same place as your invoices.

Payup and FreshBooks in full

A Xero alternative if you just need invoices

Xero Ignite is £18 a month plus VAT, for quotes and up to 20 invoices. Grow is £39 a month plus VAT. Xero is full accounting software, and its UK prices went up on 1 September 2026.

Payup isn't accounting software. It sends invoices, quotes and payment links, and gives you downloads for your accounting software.

  • Invoices and quotes, with no bookkeeping to learn
  • £20 a year, against £216 a year plus VAT
  • Downloads for spreadsheets and accounting software

WHEN XERO SUITS BETTERYou need bookkeeping, bank reconciliation and VAT returns.

Payup and Xero in full

A Zervant alternative with no VAT added

Zervant's free plan has 5 customers and 5 invoices a month. Starter is £107.88 a year and Pro £191.88, both before VAT, and a business that isn't VAT registered pays Finnish VAT at 25.5% on top. Card payments cost 2% + €0.25 an invoice, and online bank payments €0.99 plus VAT.

Payup Basic is £20 a year with nothing added, and bank transfers cost nothing.

  • £20 a year, against £135.39 a year for Zervant Starter with Finnish VAT
  • Bank transfers cost nothing on every invoice
  • Card payments at Stripe's own fee on your Stripe, with nothing added by Payup

WHEN ZERVANT SUITS BETTERYou invoice 5 customers or fewer and want to pay nothing at all.

Payup and Zervant in full
IS IT FOR YOU?

An honest fit check.

PAYUP SUITS YOU IF

  • You're a sole trader or a small business sending invoices and quotes
  • You want card payments without a 2.5% fee
  • You'd like payment pages and a till in the same place
  • You'd rather pay £20 a year than a monthly bill

LOOK ELSEWHERE IF

  • You need full accounting and VAT returns
  • You send more than 25 invoices a year and want to pay nothing
QUESTIONS

Switching questions

Is Payup free?

Yes. Free has 25 invoices or quotes a year and 1 payment page. Basic is £20 a year for 1,000, and Super is £10 a month with no cap.

What does a card payment cost?

Nothing from us if you connect your own Stripe account: you pay Stripe's usual fee. Through Super Basic payments it's 5% + 20p on Free, 3% + 20p on Basic and 1.5% + 20p on Super, card costs included.

Is Payup accounting software?

No. It sends invoices, quotes and payment links, and gives you downloads for spreadsheets and accounting software.

Can I use it if I'm not VAT registered?

Yes. Say so when you set up and VAT never appears on your invoices. If you register later, switch it on in Your business.

Where the rival details come from

Checked on 8 November 2026. Names belong to their owners, and we're not linked to any of them. Tell us at hello@thesuperbasic.com if anything here is out of date and we'll fix it.

Send your first invoice free.

Add your business details once, then send an invoice in a minute.